Visa Exemption for nationals of 5 Western European countries to June 2017 at Viet Nam

The Vietnamese government has decided to extend visa exemptions for citizens from the France, Germany,  United Kingdom, Italy and Spain for one more year until 30th June, 2017. The Resolution aimed to attract and invite more European citizens to Vietnam, thereby boosting domestic tourism, and facilitating business travel and foreign investment into Vietnam.

On 30th June, 2016, the Vietnamese government issued the Resolution No. 56/NQ-CP on visa waiver programmes for citizens coming from number of countries in Europe.

The visa exemption will be applied regardless of passport type or immigration purpose, as long as the travelers meet the requirements of relevant Vietnamese laws and stay in Vietnam no more than fifteen (15) days. This Resolution takes effects on 30th June, 2016.

The Government has applied the waiver for visitors from the five above-mentioned countries for one year period starting from 1st July last year.

The Resolution promises to bring development opportunities to Vietnam’s tourism industry, attracting foreign investment, promoting the growth of FDI enterprises

The policy will be reconsidered and extended in line with Vietnamese law.
Currently Vietnam unilaterally offers visa exemptions for visitors from Denmark, Norway, Finland, Sweden, Japan, South Korea, and Russia and a 30-day visa waiver for tourists from the 10-member ASEAN bloc, except for Bruneians who receive a 14 day waiver.

Recently, the Vietnamese government issued a resolution on time-limit visa exemption for citizens of Belarus.

Le Thuy Hang (

1 Comment

  1. דירות דיסקרטיות בירושלים - israel night club

    Very good article. I definitely appreciate this website. Continue the good work!

Leave a Comment


    Posts Related

    The leading HR solution in Vietnam

    Leave an email, get the latest HR news and documents